HERITAGE RESOURCE AWARD
Quiet Valley Living Historical Farm
347 Quiet Valley Road, Stroudsburg
Quiet Valley Living Historical Farm was settled in the early 1770s by John Zepper. The farm continued in family hands until 1913 when Horace and Emma March sold the property to Thomas Hess. In 1958, the farm was acquired by Alice and Wendell Wicks, and it was Alice who conceived the idea of preserving the 19th Century farm. In 1963, Quiet Valley Living Historical Farm opened for seasonal tours.
With the decline of family farms in Monroe County, the preservation of the Quiet Valley site reflects back on a rich history of rural agriculture in northeast Pennsylvania. The organization works to preserve the resources of the small farm to provide a historical experience and educational opportunities for the visiting public.
This heritage site provides a deeper understanding of historic structures and landscapes in Monroe County. Quiet Valley Living Historical Farm includes two log houses (with later additions), an English barn, a Swiss forebay bank barn, school house, spring house, bake oven, wood shed, corn crib, timber frame bridge, and animal sheds.
☞Quiet Valley Living Historical Farm
PUBLICLY FUNDED PROPERTY
Stroudsburg Post Office
701 Ann Street, Stroudsburg
This building is a beautiful example of Art Deco style architecture. Built in 1935 at a part of President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal in conjunction with his Works Progress Administration public projects program, it still serves as the post office for Stroudsburg today.
The structure has a high degree of integrity as it has retained the original fabric from its initial construction.
The exterior decorative elements include a limestone facade with carved detailing, the United States seal, Art Deco details in the separation panels, floral and geometric designs, and simulated “reeding” in the facade’s banner lettering.
The interior maintains many of the original ornamental elements including domestic marble wainscot, a green/grey terrazzo floor with bordered edge, Greek Revival detailing on the postmaster’s office doorway, an open marble staircase with Art Deco post and railing to the second floor, banks of brass postal boxes, the bronze dedication plaque, and much more.
Commercial Property | Wallace Building
400-block Main Street, Stroudsburg
Located on lower Main Street in downtown Stroudsburg, this block of buildings was built in 1857 as a hardware store by Joseph Wallace. It is an attractive mixed commercial and residential building. Today it operates much like it had when it was originally constructed, with the first floor serving as individual businesses and the second floor utilized for apartments. The storefronts are primarily glass with large street-side window displays.
The building’s most notable feature is the exterior facade which is Italianate commercial style with embellished details such as cornices with corbels formed in brick and a pressed tin parapet.
The structure remained as the Joseph Wallace Hardware Company and was maintained by the Wallace family until 1981, when it was sold at auction. It was then renovated and restored by Arthur Henning, an award-winning developer. It now serves as the home for several of Stroudsburg’s local businesses.
The Wallace building’s Main Street appearance has a high degree of integrity considering its age and high use over the years.
The Whitman House
The Whitman House is a wonderful example of a late Federal style home built circa 1840 by John Kunkle. It is a brick, two-story, four-bay Pennsylvania farmhouse with ancillary structures including a granary, corncrib, and a forebay barn. This barn in particular is a rare example of a stone-posted forebay outside of the Chester County, Pa., area.
Over the years, the property was owned by Montgomery Crowe, who became a state senator in the 1950s and by the Pomeroy family, owners of the department store chain
The exterior consists of 6/6 sash windows, brick walls, and stone foundation. The interior boasts the original chair rails, baseboards, window trim, stair railing, floors, plaster ceilings and walls, and kitchen fireplace.
A complementary two-story addition was built to expand this lovely house, while honoring the historic nature of the original structure. The current owners, William and Deborah Whitman, have lovingly preserved this home. They have kept the integrity and history of the house, while applying modern conveniences.